Reviews for The Choice


Many thanks to reviewers, bloggers and readers who have published reviews of The Choice on their website, social media, Amazon, Barnes & Noble, and everywhere!

Reviews are posted with the most recent on top. Or, scroll to the bottom of this page and click on the link to go directly to the full review. 


 Amazon Review Update


Additional reviews are posted on Amazon ---- 5 Stars after 9 reviews!
Thanks so much, everyone!

May 9, 2016
Interview with Pam Cable 


January 6, 2016

A RUP LIFE: Best of 2015
The Choice: Book Two of the Sidhe by Cindy Cipriano- you can read the full review here~ I loved the first book and the second book and cannot wait until the next one! Cipriano weaves a lovely young adult book about Fairies. Family and friendship are tested in the magical series.

 


July 6, 2015

A RUP LIFE

I'm am so excited to share with you book 2 of The Sidhe series by Cindy Cipriano!  I read book one last year ( The Circle) and it was a great story.  Book 2 - The Choice is equally awesome.  In this book our favorite characters Callum, Laurel and Hagen are back.  They are still searching for Finlay and learning about their other world - the Fairy World.

About The Choice:
 For Calum Ranson, seventh grade brings changes in his relationships with his parents and his friends, and a confrontation with his bully. Calum's talents have also developed to a level unheard of in the Sidhe world. When Calum goes against everything he knows is right, he makes a choice that may cost him his friendship with Laurel. An old friend steps in, but her mysterious ways leave Calum questioning her motives. In the second book of the Sidhe Series, Calum, Laurel, and Hagen reunite in their search for Finley. And while many things have changed, Calum remains steadfast in his belief that Finley is still alive and Calum will bring him home.

My Thoughts:
I know many of you are looking for good books for your tweens/teens and I want to tell you this is a fantastic fantasy series. Cipriano has created a fantasy world that makes you want to visit and learn more.  She blends the fantasy with a little bit of mystery which keeps the story flowing.  I highly recommend you start with the first book - The Circle and then follow up with The Choice.  I honestly can't wait for the next book to come out!


April 21, 2015

Plethoric Thoughts
I indulged myself and my interest for it because, while I can’t find my bearings to the series, it was so interesting. The depth of this story, the mystery and wonders of Sidhe (which I haven’t heard of until now), the fully developed characters.

My love for mythologies grew strong in this novel as I immersed myself in the cultures and traditions of an Irish myth. And while, I’ve already had a knowledge gap of some sort with not reading the first book, certain characters have already risen my curiosity on what their roles will be in the entire series, such as Natali the Hobayeth girl. Well, especially herI also want to know what would happen to Sun afterwards. And of course, Finley. The kind-hearted, loyal Finley.

For some reason, Laurel sometimes comes off slightly whiny to me and the stubbornness of her father was kind of annoying. But I understand where these things where coming from seeing the situation that they were in.

Overall, this book, in itself, was a wonderful read, obviously crafted meticulously. The Choice is filled with lessons about friendship, morals, love, and loyalty. And written in such a deep and profound way that I find lacking among most YA authors today. With this book, itself, I already wanted to know about what will happen to Finley. The Choice is an engaging read and the description of the Sidhe’s world was vivid in my mind. And I wanted to be part of it.

April 11, 2015
Kelly Smith Reviews

For Calum Ranson, seventh grade brings changes in his relationship with his parents and his friends and a confrontation with his bully. Calum's talents have also developed to a level unheard of in the Sidhe world, and he surprises everyone when he cleverly catches the person responsible for casting Finley out from the Otherworld.

When Calum goes against everything he knows is right, he makes a choice that may cost him his friendship with Laurel. An old friend steps in, but her mysterious ways leave Calum questioning her motivation.

In the second book of the Sidhe Series, Calum, Laurel, and Hagen reunite in their search for Finley. And while many things have changed, Calum remains steadfast in his belief that Finley is still alive and that Calum will bring him home.

In the YA fantasy genre, rarely will you find a story so involved, so deep and mysterious. The first thing I thought was that Ms. Cipriano did not write this for children as most writers would: she wrote this for people. She didn't "dumb down" anything, as some YA authors are known to. She assumed that teens would understand or strive to understand every emotion, every name, and every element of the story. I give her a lot of credit for that. The last thing any teen wants is to be talked down to. 

The story is a sequel to The Circle, and while I would recommend reading that first, it's not entirely necessary to do so. The Choice can be enjoyed on its own.

Ms. Cipriano really did her research with the Sidhe, an obscure Irish myth. I don't think I've ever read a book about the Sidhe that was written after the year 1900! As a lover of anything paranormal or mythological, I found myself enraptured and immersed in the backstory and the fates of the characters. 

The story is about belief, friendship and loyalty. Great lessons for kids and adults alike! You can ignore the YA shelving. This is a book for all ages.

4/5 - so enjoyable!

These links will take you to full reviews of The Choice.
(Please note: Updates to websites may cause the post to be removed or moved.)


Kelly Smith Reviews April 11, 2015
Pam Cable - Interview May 9, 2016
Plethoric Thoughts April 21, 2015